Three Sentence Stories to Pass the Time

I apologise for not updating for some time, I’ve been a little lazy with my writing.

As of now, I am also waiting for a friend of mine to proofread my short horror novella, Willow Worshipped. Once she is finished and I have fixed it all up, I will be posting the novella in short parts for your viewing pleasure (or horror, I suspect).

To make up for the long wait, I have spent the last couple of hours creating a small anthology of three sentence stories, mostly horror and sci-fi themed. I was originally going to do two sentence stories but I found it hard to write a good story in only two sentences.

Some of these stories have a running theme, others are just stand-alones. The micro-stories with the running theme were inspired by an idea I had for a compilation of short stories. Who knows, I may even turn them into proper short stories someday.

Please enjoy!

~~~

Thanks to powerful advancements in technology, virtual reality headsets have changed the way we use popular social media sites such as Facebook. Nowadays, we can ‘react’ to anything within our field of vision, ‘block’ anyone we don’t want to see and ‘friend’ anybody with just a wink of an eye. Just this morning I not only sent a frowny face hovering over a horrific traffic accident on the M1, I also blocked (and muted) the screaming idiot in the truck who caused the crash and friended the blood-soaked woman lying on the road so I could write a tasteful message on her wall to let her loved ones know she had died almost instantaneously.

~~~

My name is Celeste and I had always wanted to use an Ouija board. Yes, it was during my first use of the supposed ghost summoning device that the roof collapsed and my neck was crushed by a wooden beam. Goodbye.

~~~

Ever since I got my virtual reality headset, my life has become a lot more liveable and enjoyable. My favourite part is Facebook’s fantastic ‘block’ feature which ensures I don’t have to see or hear the people who I cannot stand the most.  Now I can shop peacefully in an empty aisle, complete my job sans annoying co-workers and rest at home without having my god awful teenager screaming in my face about how much she hates me; such bliss!

~~~

Moments after my death, He met me at the fiery gates of the spiralling abyss. As I tried to convince him of my devotion to my religion, to Him, He let out a rumbling noise which I assumed was laughter. In the distance, I heard the collective scream of humanity and in that moment I knew that we had all been wrong.

~~~

Ever since Mum bought me my first ever virtual reality headset a week ago, I now have over one thousand friends on Facebook! It’s so insane but so cool how you can befriend anyone you can see walking down the street, all you have to do is wink at them and if they wink back you have a brand new friend! Yesterday, I kept trying to wink at this old guy and he just stared at me like I was some sort of freak and I realised that he didn’t have a VA headset on; thank god I could block him, it was so awkies!

~~~

After much research into supernatural phenomena, I’ve come to the conclusion that there is no such thing as ghost, demons or the paranormal. In fact, I believe that any photo or video featuring poltergeist behaviour or ghostly apparitions with no earthly explanation can instead be credited as the work of beings in a dimension that we as human are unable to perceive.  So if you always get the feeling that someone is watching you in bed or in the shower  the culprit is less likely to be a ghost or bogeymen and more likely to be an incomprehensible life form who has formed a great attachment to you and your physical form.

~~~

These godforsaken virtual whatever-the-hell-they-ares have destroyed what is left of this society. Every day I would walk down the street and see people screaming ‘SADFACE’ at the homeless and ‘ANGRYFACE’ at the church and whenever I would try to start up a conversation with someone on the bus they would always shout ‘BLOCK’ right in my face and ignore me for the rest of the ride. It’s been two hours now and I’m still lying crumpled in a heap at the bottom of these blasted stairs and although I’ve screamed myself hoarse my children and wife still haven’t acknowledged me even once.

~~~

For more updates on my online horror novella Willow Worshipped, consider following me on Twitter – @AlthaeaProse.

2 thoughts on “Three Sentence Stories to Pass the Time

Leave a Reply

