Scene Challenge of the Week

I’ve decided to have a go at writing in a flash fiction challenge.

What is flash fiction? Well, it’s a story that usually has less than 1000 words. This particular flash fiction challenge comes from ‘The Art of Writing‘, a blog run by Tobias Mastgrave.

The rules are simple: write a 150 word story that is just one, continuous sentence. Okay, so it isn’t that simple but it sure is interesting.

The cue for this week is “Papa, I want…”

Without further ado, here is my entry for the Scene Challenge of the Week:

 

“Papa, I want a dolly with a pretty pink petticoat, brown button eyes and sparkling ballet shoes;

a music box that plays soothing lullabies that I can listen to while I sleep;

a brand new diary made of the finest leather so I can write all my secrets inside it along with a matching feathery quill;

oh and I would absolutely die for a piece of chocolate cake made of the finest Belgian chocolate with a strawberry on top of it as well as a cool, refreshing glass of milk to wash it down with;

if it’s not too much trouble, could I also get a nice clean blanket to keep me warm at night and if it’s quite alright with you could I also get a pretty blonde wig so I can brush my hair again and a lovely new dress to replace these stripy blue and white pyjamas…Papa, why are you crying?”

2 thoughts on “Scene Challenge of the Week

  1. Hmmm… I like this. I notice that you do kind of use regular sentences and just split them up with semi-colons instead of periods. Something a little more grammatically challenging might be appropriate–FYI the goal of this challenge is to develop abilities in grammatical complexity. Steven Erikson’s set of novellas in the book Korbal Broach and Bauchelain is a good example of the ultimate goal. He has some sentences in these novellas that go on for a page or more and are absolutely beautiful. I really like the feel of the piece and the way you end it though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

