Willow Worshipped Part 1: Well that just happened…

(Anyone interested in drawing a cartoon character please scroll down to the bottom for more details!)

So today, I decided to have a go at continuing a short horror story I started in the middle of last year.

Well, five and a half hours and 13 extra pages later and I can happily say that I have completed it.

Actually, when I say completed I mean I typed the last word of the last sentence of the story. I still need to do some major editing/proofreading before I can be fully satisfied with it.

This post is pretty much just a bit of gloating over the fact that I’ve actually finished another story.

Oh heck, I’ll give you a bit of a preview to the story as well I suppose.

‘Willow Worshipped’ is a short horror story that gained inspiration from two of my favourite pastimes – watching horror movies and reading online recounts about the horrifying things people do.

We’ll start with horror movies because I think it’s the more boring inspiration. I love horror movies (and stories) that revolve around a crazy kidnapper. I couldn’t imagine what it must be like getting abducted by a sick individual.

I think the worst person to be kidnapped by would be someone who was totally obsessed with you. Someone who knows where you work, where you sleep, someone who would flip out if they discovered you did something that ruined their perfect image of you and your work. If you’re reading this and thinking to yourself “hey, this sounds like Stephen King’s ‘Misery'” then you are absolutely right. I’m happy to admit that ‘Willow Worshipped’ was more than likely inspired by one of my favourite Stephen King novels.

I’m also a bit of a guilty fan of freaky transformation horror movies. A crazed maniac takes a poor, unsuspected victim and turns them into their greatest desire – think ‘The Human Centipede’ and on a less horror and more of a directed by the same guy who made ‘Clerks’ way, ‘Tusk’. ‘Willow Worshipped’ loves this trope and if you do then I hope you’ll love ‘Willow Worshipped’ too.

My second biggest inspiration for this short story is a bit more of an interesting one. I’m sure you’ve heard of the phrase ‘once it’s on the internet, it’s there for good’. Unfortunately, there are a lot of people who haven’t heard this statement before. That’s probably why there are so many terrifying bits of TMI (too much information) on the internet.

Most of these TMIs tend to come from crazy, obsessive fans. One particular tidbit that caught my eye was a story about a man who just happened to be in love with a character from a 90’s Saturday morning kid’s cartoon. In fact, he loved her so much that he made a um…’love’ doll that looked just like her.

If that wasn’t bad enough, a revelation was made that he had used an actual human skeleton as the frame to make his perfect love doll. It both terrified and disgusted me. I think it’s safe to say that once you eventually get a chance to read ‘Willow Worshipped’ you’ll discover that…interesting story played a huge role in it’s creation.

Another fairly big inspiration that helped me to write ‘Willow Worshipped’ is the interesting world of character voice acting and all the crap the more famous voice actors have to deal with. Again, fans can get just a little bit too TMI.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my little sneak peek into my brand new short story! I’ll hopefully have it all edited soon (all 23 pages of it, eek) and I’ll place it up here for everyone to read and critique.

[Oh, another thing! I would love to hire someone to draw Willow (the animated cartoon character that the story is all about). I have a shitty concept sketch but I’d love someone who can draw a decent looking 90s cartoon character to illustrate her to help promote the story! If you’re interested, please comment below!]

2 thoughts on “Willow Worshipped Part 1: Well that just happened…

  1. Hey guuurl. To continue ‘Ye old days’ of my attempted drawings I did for you- if you show me your concept sketch and an example or 2 of what you mean by ’90s cartoon’ (as there are variations) I’d love to give it a go 🙂 then no pressure on if you actually want to use it or not. Hope you’ve been well, keen to read it. -Britt

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Britt, I would love you 5-ever if you could help me out!! I’ll send you my concept sketch and some examples tomorrow ❤ I've been great! I hope you've been good too, we need to catch up sometime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

