Welcome to my Garbage Sale!

I’ve finally done it.

It’s taken me a good seven years but I have finally decided to take one giant step forward.

This blogging platform has been designed to showcase my garbage in all its glory. Stay with me here; there is a story behind this.

When I was a young girl, we had a garage sale at my old house in Arana Hills. We piled everything into the corrugated iron garage beside our home. Our huge, winding driveway led the way up to this mountain of unneeded knick-knacks and upholstery.

I remember being very excited. I believe it was the first garage sale I had ever attended. I was so excited that whenever I saw a customer arrive I just had to shout a salutation to them. My choice words for the occasion?

“Welcome to our garbage sale!”

Of course, everyone found my accidental yet ironic substitution very endearing. After all, it wasn’t necessarily wrong; we were selling our garbage. The second definition the Online Merriam-Webster Dictionary gives for garbage is ‘discarded or useless material.’ To us, the stuff we were selling wasn’t useful to us anymore.

Yet to our customers, our unwanted junk was a potential purchase, maybe even a fantastic find.  So at the end of the day we were unloading our unneeded items whereas they might have been coming away with the one thing they were looking for. Like the old saying goes – one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

This website is my second ever garbage sale. Although I’m nice enough to myself to not regard my work as useless, I like to think of this website as the best way for me to unload my ideas, short stories and previews onto a willing and eager audience.

Like the customers who perused our goods in my family’s garage all those years ago, I’m hoping that you, along with everyone else who ventures into this blog, may find a neat gem or even just a nice bargain. If you don’t, that’s okay too, at least you can say that you had a browse.

So step right up and take a peek, who knows what you may find.

 

Leave a Reply

